One stop shop for your holiday to Italy atol
Need help? We're open 10am to 3pm  ☎ 0203 302 4424

Palazzi in Palermo: Sicily's new UNESCO site

22 July 2015

The latest addition to Italy’s 51-strong list of UNESCO heritage sites is Arab-Norman Palermo and the churches of Cefalù and Monreale in north western Sicily.

Western, Islamic and Byzantine cultures merge in this collection of nine civil and religious structures that date back to the Norman kingdom of Sicily: two palaces (Palazzo Reale and Palazzo della Zisa), three churches (Giovanni degli Eremiti, La Martorana, San Cataldo), Palermo’s cathedral, the Ammiraglio bridge and the cathedrals of Cefalù and Monreale.

Other UNESCO World Heritage sites in Sicily include the Greek temples at Agrigento; the Villa Romana del Casale at Piazza Armerina; the Aeolian archipelago; the baroque towns of the Val di Noto; Mount Etna; and the two sites of the Necropolis of Pantalica and the island of Ortigia in Syracuse.


Monreale Cathedral

Monreale Cathedral



Find us on
Facebook   Twitter
Designed by Victor Web Design